2023: RECs' absence cog in wheel of electoral process - CSOs

2023: RECs’ absence cog in wheel of electoral process – CSOs

…say there is need to fill the void created by the absence of RECs in various States of the Federation

Civil Society Organizations under the aegis of National Coalition on Improved Service Delivery (NACOISED) have urged President Muhammadu Buhari to as a matter of urgency, appoint the recently cleared  Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) nominees. 

The National Leader of the group, Prince Chris Azor in a release to newsmen stated that the call is long overdue, adding that it is imperative to fill the existing vacuum created due to their non engagement.

He said, “As we steadily approach the general elections, there is need to fill the void created by the absence of Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) in various States of the Federation. 

“The RECs play vital roles in conducting electoral activities at the sub-national level. Their absence has become worrisome and a cog in the wheel of electoral process.

“RECs catalyse the functions of INEC as SMOU. That is Supervise, Monitor, Organize and Undertake the electoral process.”

It would be recalled that President of the Senate, Sen. Ahmad Lawan at the plenary session of Tuesday, 26 July 2022 notified lawmakers of the request of President Muhammadu Buhari on Senate’s confirmation of the  nominees for appointment as RECs of INEC.

The Senate following the consideration of the report of its Committee on INEC after a screening exercise, approved nineteen (19) persons for appointment as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Presenting the report of the Committee at the plenary session of Wednesday, 5 October 2022, the Chairman, Sen. Kabiru Gaya (APC: Kano) explained that the confirmation of the nominees was in line with section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution which provides that: “Except in the case of ex-officio members or where other provisions are made in this Constitution, the Chairman and members of any of the bodies so established shall, subject to the provisions of this Constitution, be appointed by the President and the appointments shall be subject to confirmation by the Senate”.

Sen. Gaya mentioned that the nominees appeared before the Committee on Tuesday, 27 September 2022 for the screening exercise and responded to questions pertaining to their personal background, educational qualification, work experiences and the petitions submitted by Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) against 4 nominees.

According to Sen. Gaya, he informed lawmakers that the appointment of 5 out of the 19 nominees were for a renewed term of four years while 14 others were new appointments, and that upon careful scrutiny of all relevant documents belonging to the nominees, the Committee was satisfied with the qualifications, experiences and suitability of the 19 nominees as follows:

1.         Ibrahim Abdullahi, mni                  Adamawa           Renewal of Appointment

2.         Obo O. Effanga                              Cross River                    Renewal of Appointment

3.         Alh. Umar Ibrahim                         Taraba                Renewal of Appointment

4.         Dr. Agboke Mitiu Olaleke                  Ogun               Renewal of Appointment

5.         Prof. Samuel E. Egwu                         Kogi                  Renewal of Appointment

6.         Onyeka Pauline Ugochi                      Imo                         New Appointment

7.         Prof. Muhammed Lawal Bashar            Sokoto                  New Appointment

8.         Prof. Ayobami Salami                             Oyo                    New Appointment

9.         Amb. Zango Abdussamadu Abdu          Katsina                 New Appointment

10.       Mrs. Queen Elizabeth Agwu                 Ebonyi                  New Appointment

11.       Dr. Agunndu Oliver Tersoo                 Benue                    New Appointment

12.       Yomere Gabriel Oritsemlebi                 Delta                    New Appointment

13.       Prof. Yahaya Makarfi Ibrahim               Kaduna                New Appointment

14.       Dr. Nura Ali                                         Kano                      New Appointment

15.       Agu Sylvia Uchenna                             Enugu                    New Appointment

16.       Ahmed Yushau Garki                           FCT                    New Appointment

17.       Barr. Hudu Yunusa, mni                      Bauchi                  New Appointment

18.       Prof. Uzochukwu Ikemefuna Chijioke   Anambra              New Appointment

19.       Mohammad B. Nura                            Yobe                     New Appointment

Kindly Leave a Comment