Tuesday, December 7

Mamta’s TMC sweeps all Assembly seats in West Bengal by-election

Indian state West Bengal’s by-election results have been declared on Tuesday evening for four Assembly seats. 

The constituencies of Dinhata, Khardaha, Gosaba (SC), and Santipur went into by-polls on October 30. It was a direct battle between the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC). 

The Electoral Commission has declared results of all four constituencies — Dinhata, Khardah, Santipur, Gosaba and TMC wins all 4 Assembly seats by massive margin where the main opponent political party BJP failed to get 1/6 of the total valid votes in the three assembly seats. 

According to Section 34 (1) of the People’s Representation Act, 1951, candidates, while filling the election form, for the election of ‘Parliamentary constituency’, were made to pay security amount of 25 thousand rupees and 10 thousand rupees for contesting elections in the assembly constituency. 

The amount is to be deposited. When a candidate fails to get 1/6 of the total valid votes in the election, the amount secured by him is seized by the Electoral Commission. 

READ ALSO  India deploys K9 Vajra to keep Chinese Army away from Ladakh border

TMC’s Sovandeb Chattopadhyay won the Khardaha assembly seat by a margin of over 93,000 votes, whereas in Dinhata constituency, TMC’s Udayan Guha won by a margin of over 1.6 lakh votes. In Dinhata, BJP’s Ashok Mandal secured 25,387 votes, while TMC’s Udayan Guha secured 1,89,153 votes. In Khardaha, TMC won with 1,13,647 votes, whereas BJP got only 20,198 votes. 

The West Bengal Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee said, “My heartiest congratulations to all the four winning candidates! This victory is people’s victory, as it shows how Bengal will always choose development and unity over propaganda and hate politics. 

With people’s blessings, we promise to continue taking Bengal to greater heights! After the TMC swept the West Bengal bypolls and won all four seats on Tuesday, Rajya Sabha member Derek O’Brien took to Twitter to state that three of the BJP’s candidates had not only lost the election but also lost their security deposit.

Kindly Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: