House of Reps set up committee to screen new service chiefs


The House of Representatives has set up a 40-member joint committee to screen the new Service Chiefs.

The Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, announced this at Wednesday’s plenary.

President Muhammadu Buhari appointed the new service chiefs on January 26.

He had also forwarded the names to the National Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The new service chiefs are – Maj.-Gen. Lucky lrabor (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj.-Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru (Chief of Army Staff), Rear Adm. Awwal Zubairu Gambo (Chief of Naval Staff) and AVM Isiaka O. Amao (Chief of Air Staff).

The speaker said members of the committee included chairmen and deputy chairmen of the House’s Standing Committees on Defence, Nigerian Army, Nigerian Air Force and Nigerian Navy.

The former service chiefs – Lt. Gen Abayomi Olonisakin, Lt. Gen Tukur Buratai, Air Marshall Sadique Abubakar and Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas retired from service on January 26.

The President had since nominated the quartet for ambassadorial positions.

READ  House Of Reps In A Move To Sanction Police Officers, DSS Officials Over Refusing To Arrest Ministers, Heads Of MDAs

Kindly Leave a Comment