Friday, January 21

Anambra reassures equal access education, acquires 3 schools

By: Awesome Ekene

The Ministry of Basic Education in Anambra State has acquired three schools at Ugbenu, Awka North and Eziagu and Okpu in Owerre-Ezukalla, Orumba South Local Government Areas of the state.

The schools acquired were Community High School, Ugbenu, Eziagu Community Secondary School and Okpu Primary School, both in Owerre-Ezukala.

Performing the functions, Commissioner for Basic Education, Prof. Kate Omenugha said the moves were in furtherance of government’s resolve to bring education to doorsteps of every Anambra child, which is in line with the “no child is to be left behind” policy.

She explained that Governor Willie Obiano’s commitment to ensuring that the learning needs of all were met resulted to the establishment of schools in the hinterland.

She said, “Anambra State Government’s desire to bring education to the doorstep of communities and ensure equal access to education for all children resulted to the acquisition of more schools.”

President General of Ugbenu community, Barr. G.N. Afan, expressed the community’s appreciation to the Governor and Commissioner for alleviating the plights of the students who trekked long distances to other communities to acquire secondary education.

READ ALSO  FG To Employ All Qualified, Licenced Teachers

On their part, people of Eziagu and Okpu in Owerre-Ezukala eulogized Obiano for his administration’s giant strides in the education sector.

They disclosed that their decisions to embark on the school projects was informed by the need to alleviate the plights of their children who travel far distances to acquire primary and secondary education.

Kindly Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: