Anambra inaugurates Public Procurement Council, Bureau 1
South East

Anambra inaugurates Public Procurement Council, Bureau

Anambra State Government has inaugurated the Public Procurement Council and Public Procurement Bureau in the state for the approval of all policies on public procurement, and approve changes in procurement processes among others.

The Excutive Governor, Dr Willie Obiano During the ceremony at the Governor’s Lodge Amawbia stated that inaugurating the Council and the Agency is the key requirement for the newly signed laws to drive the Procurement Act.

The Governor also inaugurated the Public Procurement Bureau for the formulation of general policies and guidelines relating to public sector procurement for the approval of the Council and will also monitor the prices of tendered items, among others.

However, Governor Willie Obiano noted that despite the existence of the Due Process Board chaired by Mr Afam Mbanefo, the new board members will continue within the framework of the Bureau, The DAILY VENDOR reports.

Speaking, Chairman of Public Procurement Council, Chief Manafa assured that they will total commitment for more effective results adding that public procurement focuses on value for money, ethics, fair dealing, equity, anchored on transparency, accountability, among others.

He, therefore called for full support from the council as one of the many legacies of the present administration.

The General Manager of the State Public Procurement Bureau, Mr Melie Onyejepu, represented by Mr Afam Mbanefo appreciated the Governor for the confidence reposed in them.

The council comprise sixteen members, with Chief Henry Manafa as Chairman, Professor Solo Chukwulobelu, Vice Chairman and Mr Melie Onyejepu as Secretary.

Other members of the council are Chief Primus Odili, Mr Harry Uduh, Dr Uju Nworgu, Mr Ifeatu Onejeme, Mr Mark Okoye, Venerable Ameachi Okwuosa, Retired, Air Vice Marshal Ben Chiobi, Prince Chris Azor,
representing Civil Society Organizations and Mr Confidence Azodo representing the Local Government System.

Others are Mr Edisson Obianyo representing the Institute of Quantity Surveyors, Mr Chike Okonkwo representing Nigeria Society of Engineers, Mrs Chinyere Nwabachili, Mr Emeka Eze and Mr Law Chinwuba are also

Mr Melie Onyejepu as the General Manager of the Bureau. Members of the Board include Professor Kate Omenugha, Mr Greg Obi, Mr Nnamdi Onukwuba, Dr Christian Madubuko, Mrs Pat Igwebuike and Mr Ernest Adinweruka.

Others are Mr Afam Mbanefo, Sir Willie Nwokoye, Mr Chuka Ezewuzie, Mr Okey Ezeobi, Mr Chris Iteke, Mr Simon Attah and Mr Leo Ogbuefi.

Kindly Leave a Comment