Nnewi North TC Chairman’s nomination for Gov’s approval followed due process – APGA boss

Chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Nnewi North Local Government Area of Anambra State, Mr Anthony Muodelo has dismissed allegation that the nomination of Engr Chris Obiora to continue as the TC Chairman did not follow due process.

Muodelo, in an interview at the weekend described the complainants as ignorant of the process and guidelines as stipulated by the state government.

He explained that governement spelt out the caliber stakeholders that would be in the meeting during the nomination process.

“There are many stakeholders in the wards but the ones to take part in that nomination exercise are governement appointees, from Senior Special Assistant upwards; current local government party executive members; current transition councilors and one major stakeholder from each ward.

“Governement wants a limited number of people to participate in the nomination process. Other stakeholders may think they are left out, but not all will be there in order to limit excesses, “he said.

On why Governor Charles Soludo rejected the list that had Engr Obiora as the one nominated as TC Chairman, Muodelo said that the Governor did not reject the list but that he redirected them to submit three nominees which would include a woman. 

He said the stakeholders came back and called an emergency meeting and made the corrections strictly according to the guidelines and returned the list to the Governor for his approval.

“Five candidates stepped in for TC chairmanship position and two later stepped down. When the nomination was put to vote, Engr Obiora polled 62 votes; Dennis Obi polled 4 votes while Ebere Anonuba had 7 votes. Therefore, Engr Obiora emerged as the first choice, “the party Chairman explained.

Mr Muodelo further explained why Uruagu among the four quarters was given the consideration to produce the TC Chairman.

According to him, Uruagu and Nnewichi quarters were the least in the list, in terms of producing the local government Chairman either elected or appointed.

He said that Uruagu was further considered for the TC Chairmanship slot since the current serving state Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, Hon Christian Udechukwu is from Nnewichi.

On the political misunderstanding going on in Uruagu wards 2 and 3, Mr Muodelo explained that it was caused by people who had selfish interest.

“Sometime ago, Umumejiaku, Akabukwu and Edorji were in ward 3 but somebody out of selfish interest went to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and these communities were put in ward 2. 

“But since then they have not been able to get well integrated into the ward 2 because they still believe they were members of ward 3 not minding that their votes count in ward 2 and not in ward 3.

“And this problem could have been resolved by our representatives in the National Assembly but they did not because they are benefitting from the arrangement, “the Chairman explained.

Meanwhile, Transition Committee (TC) local government administration system in Anambra State may suffer a setback following a media report that a Federal High Court in Abuja was said to have stopped the 21 local government areas in Anambra from receiving allocations from the consolidated revenue pending the conduct of council election in the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.