Ubaoji takes over from Ufoaroh as UNIZIK ASUU Chairman

Comrade Professor Kingsley Ubaoji of the Department of Biochemistry, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, has been elected as the new Chairperson of Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Unizik branch.

The election took place at ASUU-NAU Secretariat of the University, on Wednesday July 12, 2023.

Comrade Ubaoji polled a total of 616 votes to beat Comrade Dr.Okenwa CY Ogbodo who polled a total of 227 votes, would be taking over from Comrade Stephen Ufoaroh, immediate past Chairman of the chapter.

Comrade Dr. Uju Ezenekwe had a total of 141 votes while Comrade Dr.Peter Okoye of the Department of Technology and Vocational Education, who served as Secretary in the outgoing executives came a distant 4th with 84 votes.

In other results, Comrade Dr. Harrison Etaga polled a total of 570 votes to defeat Comrade Dr. Darlington Onyejike who polled a total of 438 votes for the post of Vice-Chairman.

For the position of Secretary, Comrade Dr. Joseph Onyejiaka emerged unopposed; Assistant General Secretary position went to Comrade Dr. Osita Nnajiofor unopposed, while Comrade Dr. Theophilus Okegbe, Comrade Dr. Amaka Metu ATM, Comrade Dr. Innocent Nnubia and Comrade Dr. Gideon Ezu emerged unopposed for the positions of Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Internal Auditor and Investment Secretary, respectively.

The Welfare Officer position was annexed by Comrade Engr. Dr. Chinenye Okey-Onyesolu who polled a total of 566 votes to defeat Comrade Dr. Tonia Chigbo-Obasi of Department of Early Childhood and Primary Education with a total of 458 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights