Mmesoma: Anambra govt breaks silence, faults JAMB

Anambra State Government has said it would not take sides with anyone in the ongoing alleged forgery of Joint Administration and Matriculation Board (JAMB) score by Miss Mmesoma Ejikeme to emerge the highest scorer. 

It also faulted JAMB for not allowing investigations into the matter to take its full course before going public, regretting the fallout of such steps.

Commissioner for Information, Paul Nwosu, in a statement, said, government, as a responsible institution, has decided to undertake an independent investigation into the matter.

He said an 8-man committee has been instituted for thorough investigation of the JAMB/Mmesoma matter, assuring that the findings would be made public.

The statement reads, “Anambra State Government has, for obvious reasons, been following the JAMB/Mmesoma Ejike matter with keen interest.

“It’s important to note that Miss Mmesoma Ejike went to the office of the Anambra State Commissioner for Education, Professor Ngozi Chuma-Udeh with her UTME result to protest that the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB) didn’t recognise her as the candidate with the highest score. 

“The Commissioner in turn called JAMB to confirm her claim but she was told that Mmesoma’s result was forged.

“It was at this point that JAMB authorities invited the Directorate of State Services (DSS) to investigate the matter and make its findings known.

“This was yet to happen when JAMB went public with the matter, thus eliciting the raucous conversations we’ve seen in the media.

“It is not our wish to join the slanging match or take sides at this stage. But as a responsible government we have decided to undertake an independent investigation into the matter.

“In the light of the above, Anambra State Government has set up a Committee of Inquiry to thoroughly investigate the JAMB/Mmesoma matter. Members of the Committee include:

1. Prof. Nkemdili Nnonyelu (Chairman) 

2. Prof. Mercy Okonkwo – member 

3. Prof. Ngozi Chuma-Udeh –  member 

4. Prof. Maduabuchi Dukor – member

5. Prof. Jaja Nwanegbo – member

6. Rev. Sr. Prof. Mary-Felicia Opara – member

7. Rev. Cannon Dr. Uchenna Umeifekwem – member

8. Mr. Chukwuemeka Fred Agbata (MD, Anambra Information Communication Technology Agency) – member

“The findings of this Committee will be made public.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights