Rep members dump PDP, APGA, defect to APC

Two members of the House of Representatives announced their defections at the plenary on Tuesday.

While Aliyu Ya’u (Peoples Democratic Party, Kano), defected to join the All Progressives Congress, Shiddi Danjuma (APGA, Taraba) also defected to the APC.

The Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila, read their separate letters of defection during Tuesday’s plenary.

The Minority Leader, Ndudi Elumelu; and Deputy Minority Leader, Toby Okechukwu, faulted the defections arguing that the defectors misled the house by claiming they left their former parties because of a crisis.

Gbajabiamila noted their points but went on to declare that with Yau’s defection, all of Kano’s 24 members now belong to the APC.

A member from Benue State, Herman Hembe, had on Tuesday last week, left APGA to join the APC. Three members of the House had earlier in October switched parties.

Kolawole Lawal from Ogun State had returned to the APC from the Allied Peoples Movement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights